Main content

Austria and the OECD - Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

The OECD supports its member states in making sustainable economic progress. The Federal Chancellery coordinates Austrian positions vis-à-vis the OECD.

The OECD is an international organisation made up of 35 member countries. In 2016, Latvia has joined the organisation.

In 1961 Austria signed the Convention of the OECD, thereby becoming a founding member country of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Visit the Austria Page and the Statistical Profile of Austria on the OECD website.

Almost all Austrian Federal ministries are affected by the OECD’s multi-faceted work plan. In Austria, the Federal Chancellery (department for OECD affairs) is responsible for dealing with administrative and cross-departmental issues as well as the general strategic orientation of the organisation.


Brigitte Hutter
Federal Chancellery, Department IV/7
Ballhausplatz 2, 1010 Vienna
Phone: +43 1 531 15-20 41 14
Fax: +43 1 531 09-20 41 14

The main task of the Permanent Delegation of Austria to the OECD is to represent Austria’s interests in the committees and working groups of the organisation.


Permanent Delegation of Austria to the OECD 
3, rue Albéric Magnard 
F-75116 Paris
Phone: +331 53 92 23 30
Fax: +331 40 50 87 05

The Team at the Permanent Delegation to the OECD (in German)