Main content

The Austrian Federal Chancellery welcomes you!

Organisation of the Federal Chancellery

The Austrian Federal Chancellery is the government building where Federal Chancellor Christian Kern and Federal Minister Thomas Drozda have their offices. Also State Secretary Muna Duzdar carries out her duties in this building.

The staff of the Federal Chancellery perform a wide range of tasks with great efficiency and care, thereby providing an essential support structure for the members of the national government.

Divisions of the Austrian Federal Chancellery

The Federal Chancellery is divided into six different divisions, which we would like to introduce to you:

The responsibilities of General Matters (Division I) are extensive and varied, since the division organises all day-to-day running of internal administrative processes in the Federal Chancellery. It is thus responsible for optimum resource management, such as budgetary or human resources, as well as public grant and internal auditing. The division is also in charge of creating the best possible working environment by organising health care schemes, providing IT/infrastructure and work equipment. Moreover, it carries out other core Federal Chancellery functions, such as handling legal affairs and contracting as well as organising state visits, award ceremonies and other events. The General Matters division also takes on a wide range of coordinating functions, such as preparing for the weekly meetings of the Council of Ministers and ensuring that the Federal Government, Länder (federal regions), cities, towns and municipalities take a coordinated approach to ICT, eGovernment, cybersecurity and digital issues. Responsibilities in this area also cover legal and international affairs. Finally, the division also houses the offices of the Bioethics Commission, the Information Security Commission and the Administrative Library.

In accordance with the Federal Arts Promotion Act (1988), the Federal Theatres Organisation Act (1998) and the Federal Museums Act (2002), the Arts and Culture division (Division II) provides funding for Austria's national cultural institutions (the Federal Museums, the Federal Theatres, cultural foundations) and contemporary art and culture in the fields of visual arts, video and media arts, photography, fashion, architecture, theatre and dance, music, literature, film, and regional cultural initiatives. World heritage, folk culture, libraries, protection of historic buildings and monuments, and restitution also fall within the division's remit; one of its key tasks is the investment management of Austria's federal cultural institutions. Funding activities focus on safeguarding art and culture, establishing contemporary art in society, and providing a stable environment for artists. This also includes measures designed to enhance the presence and visibility of Austrian art on the international stage.

Developing and implementing a framework that guarantees forward-looking administrative management is the core mission of the division for the Civil Service and Administrative Innovation (Division III). Its remit covers: drafting federal employment laws, education and training, assisting departments with strategic and operational personnel development, safeguarding personnel management, guaranteeing efficient staffing resources and outcome-based administrative management.

The Coordination division (Division IV) also plays a key role. It deals with the preparation and coordination of general government policy. In addition, the division is responsible for general issues relating to economic development, the European Union and matters connected with the Organisation for Economic Co‑operation and Development (OECD).

The Federal Chancellery also houses the Constitutional Service (Division V), which represents the Republic of Austria at the Austrian Constitutional Court, the Supreme Administrative Court and at international courts as well as dealing with legislative matters. The Constitutional Service is bears the main responsibility for the Federal Government's Legal Information System.

The Federal Press Service (Division VII) is responsible for the media and public relations activities of the Federal Chancellery in particular. The division's tasks include organising press conferences and other media events; this also involves the accreditation of media representatives. The Federal Press Service produces the in-house media digest. It manages the Federal Chancellery's websites and social media channels and issues its publications. The photo and video service and graphic design department are responsible for all publicly available images of the Federal Chancellery. The Citizens Service of the Austrian Federal Chancellor is the central information office for the public's concerns. Financial coordination of the division is undertaken by a separate budget department.

Other agencies and outsourced organisations

In addition to the Federal Chancellery as the central body, its remit also covers the following agencies:

  • the Federal Administrative Court,
  • the Austrian State Archives,
  • the Federal Monuments Authority Austria,
  • the Court Music Chapel,
  • the Ombud for Equal Treatment,
  • the Austrian Data Protection Authority,
  • the Austrian Communications Authority,
  • the Supervisory Authority for Employee Representation and
  • the Permanent Delegation to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

Federal Chancellery staff are also employed at the Permanent Delegation of Austria to the EU in Brussels.

The remit of the Federal Chancellery also extends to the following outsourced organisations:

  • the Federal Museums,
  • the Federal Theatres,
  • the Austrian National Library,
  • Statistics Austria
  • and the newspaper Wiener Zeitung GmbH.